New Mix: 10/04/09

Cover art for Vinyl Shuffle Mixtape 10/04/09

Cover art for Vinyl Shuffle Mixtape 10/04/09

Only had about 30 minutes to record some records before picking up Andrea at the train station.  I randomly picked four off the shelf in the order you see; it turned out to be a nice Sunday afternoon mix.

P.S.  I am an unhappy man because the name “David Axelrod” is more associated these days with a politician, and not the musical genius from Capitol Records (and how cool is it that I randomly picked a Lou Rawls album after picking Axelrod – Lou Rawls always did get a lot of lift from Axelrod). 

Man, this musical blog just keeps gettin’ better and better.

Listen right now:

Or Download the MP3 here:
Vinyl Shuffle mixtape 10/04/09

Playlist:

  • Tom Waits. “Spare Parts II and Closing” (nighthawks at the diner); Elektra/Asylum/Nonesuch Records, 1971
  • David Axelrod. “Song of Innocence” (Song of Innocence”); Capitol Records, 19??
  • Lou Rawls. “You’re Takin’ my Bag” (Too Much!); Capitol Records, 19??
  • Freddie Hubbard. “Keep Your Soul Together” (Keep Your Soul Together); CTI 1973

4 Comments

Filed under Daily Mix

4 responses to “New Mix: 10/04/09

  1. hi, shuffle man !

    just to tell you I appreciate your work a lot ; indeed, I often listen to my music randomly, letting the software pick up songs in a huge music collection. I love wax too, and those seventies that you apparently like to pick songs in.

    So, thanks a lot, I guess I’ll be visiting this place frequently 🙂

  2. SM,

    Great hanging out at your lab tonight, it was truly a great pleasure. Love the blog and you have a new listener.

  3. The Kind

    Awesome choices! Great blog! Sounds like your needle picked up a little dust at the end tho? Love the randomness. That’s the best way to make it through a huge collection!

Leave a comment